Facebook

Pete Shelley Tribute: Day 6

On my Facebook page I was posting a week long tribute to the late, great Pete Shelley, but after four days I got waylaid and simply forgot to keep up these honorary posts.  Now that everyone is winding down for the Capitalist extravaganza I have some free time to catch up with this and will therefore continue to allow as many people as possible to enjoy his music.

***

The Way is the ninth studio album by English pop punk band Buzzcocks. It was released on 1 May 2014. It is their final album to feature Pete Shelley before his death in 2018.

Reviews of this album were very mixed as you can see here and here.

To coincide with the release of the album, the band wrote a message on their website:

We’ve teamed up with PledgeMusic to give you privileged access to pre-order the new album plus other premium items such as the new album on signed CD or vinyl, the chance to attend a VIP “meet and greet” and even a signed guitar. Each and every one of these items and experiences comes with a high quality digital download of our ninth studio album, plus bonus tracks exclusive to PledgeMusic!

The new album will be officially released to the public in the summer but by pre-ordering you’ll get your copy much sooner. Throughout the pre-order period, you’ll also get free access to our ‘Pledgers Only’ updates here on PledgeMusic where you will be able to enjoy a load of exclusive extras, videos from the studio, interviews, demos and much, much more […] In addition to this, pledges will benefit Teenage Cancer Trust to help them continue the incredible work they do. So as you can see, there are so many great reasons to be a part of our new album from the outset. Thanks again for all your support over the years, Pete, Steve, Danny & Chris Buzzcocks

2014

5% of any money raised after the goal is reached will go to Teenage Cancer Trust.

As a fan, the fact that the album is a little disappointing could be forgiven due to past glories and the fact that the compilation does include fleeting examples of their musical abilities. Indeed, I was more interested in the PledgeMusic scheme and especially the chance to meet and greet my heroes post-gig at Warrington Parr Hall where Pete Shelley asked ME to sign a copy of my book, Every Silver Lining has a Cloud.

Whoever said you should never meet your heroes, obviously never met Pete Shelley…

Pete Shelley Tribute: Day 5

On my Facebook page I was posting a week long tribute to the late, great Pete Shelley, but after four days I got waylaid and simply forgot to keep up these  honorary posts.  Now that everyone is winding down for the Capitalist  extravaganza I have some free time to catch up with this and will therefore continue to allow as many people as possible to enjoy his music.

***

According to Wikipedia, “What Do I Get?’” is a single by punk rock band Buzzcocks and its B-side is “Oh Shit”. It provided Buzzcocks with their UK chart début, peaking at No. 37 on the UK Singles Chart.

It has been covered by a number of artists, such as Steve Lieberman and Therapy?. It makes an appearance in the video game Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock and the movie Ghost World.

Contact your AM #SaveWILG

Here is an alphabetical list of AM contact details, so why not send festive messages to those with the influence to help #SaveWILG? Please feel free to encourage AMs to help protect independent living for disabled people with high support needs across Wales. If you are stuck for something to write, just spend two minutes reading this blog, my Twitter feed (@nathanleedavies) or our Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/SaveWILG) and you will soon get the idea.

Thanks for all your support in helping us to campaign for equality and justice in a crooked world.

 ***

Mick Antoniw AM

10 Market Street
Pontypridd
CF37 2ST

0300 200 7309

Mick.Antoniw@assembly.wales

Rhun ap Iorwerth AM

1B Church Street
Llangefni
Ynys Môn
LL77 7DU

01248 723 599

rhun.apiorwerth@assembly.wales

Mohammad Asghar (Oscar) AM

Unit 1
Fairoak House
15-17 Church Road
Newport
NP19 7EJ

01633 220022

Mohammad.Asghar@assembly.wales

Gareth Bennett AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
Cardiff
CF99 1NA

0300 200 7263

Gareth.Bennett@assembly.wales

Hannah Blythyn AM

38 Church Street
Flint
Flintshire
CH6 5AE

0300 200 7132

Hannah.Blythyn@assembly.wales

Dawn Bowden AM

110 High Street
Merthyr Tydfil
CF47 8AP

0300 200 7170

Dawn.Bowden@assembly.wales

Michelle Brown AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
Cardiff
CF99 1NA

Michelle.Brown@assembly.wales

Jayne Bryant AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
Cardiff
CF99 1NA

0300 200 7104

Jayne.Bryant@assembly.wales

Angela Burns AM

County Chambers
Warren Street
Tenby
Pembrokeshire
SA70 7JS

01834 843 052

Angela.Burns@assembly.wales

Hefin David AM

Bargoed YMCA
Aeron Place
Gilfach
Bargoed
CF81 8JA

01443 838542

Hefin.David@assembly.wales

Alun Davies AM

23 Beaufort Street
Brynmawr
Blaenau Gwent
NP23 4AQ

01495 311 160

Alun.Davies@assembly.wales

Andrew RT Davies AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
Cardiff
CF99 1NA

0300 200 7227

AndrewRT.Davies@assembly.wales

Paul Davies AM

20 Upper Market Street
Haverfordwest
SA61 1QA

01437 766425

Paul.Davies@assembly.wales

Suzy Davies AM

Cornhill Chambers
8 Christina Street
Swansea
SA1 4EW

0300 200 7209

Suzy.Davies@assembly.wales

Mark Drakeford AM

395 Cowbridge Road East
Canton
Cardiff
CF5 1JG

029 2022 3207

Mark.Drakeford@assembly.wales

Dafydd Elis-Thomas AM

7 Bank Place
Porthmadog
LL49 9AA

01766 515028

Dafydd.Elis-Thomas@assembly.wales

Rebecca Evans AM

9 Pontardulais Road
Gorseinon
Swansea
SA4 4FE

01792 899 081

Rebecca.Evans@assembly.wales

Janet Finch-Saunders AM

29 Madog Street
Llandudno
LL30 2TL

01492 871 198

Janet.Finch-Saunders@Assembly.Wales

Russell George AM

13 Parker’s Lane
Newtown
SY16 2LT

0300 200 7206

Russell.George@assembly.wales

Vaughan Gething AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
Cardiff
CF99 1NA

0300 200 7150

Vaughan.Gething@assembly.wales

John Griffiths AM

7th Floor
Clarence House
Clarence Place
Newport
NP19 7AA

01633 222 302

John.Griffiths@assembly.wales

Lesley Griffiths AM

Vernon House
41 Rhosddu Road
Wrexham
LL11 2NS

01978 355743

Lesley.Griffiths@assembly.wales

Llyr Gruffydd AM

Birch House Business Centre
Hen Lon Parcwr
Ruthin
Denbighsire
LL15 1NA

01824 703 593

Llyr.Gruffydd@assembly.wales

Siân Gwenllian AM

8 Castle Street
Caernarfon
LL55 1SE

01286 672076

Sian.Gwenllian@assembly.wales

Neil Hamilton AM

The Office of Neil Hamilton
Whitland Town Hall,
King Edward Street,
Whitland,
SA34 0AA

0300 200 7422

Neil.Hamilton@assembly.wales

Mike Hedges AM

97 Pleasant Street
Morriston
Swansea
SA6 6HJ

01792 790621

Mike.Hedges@assembly.wales

Vikki Howells AM

27 High Street
Aberdare
CF44 7AA

01685 881 388

Vikki.Howells@assembly.wales

Jane Hutt AM

115 High Street
Barry
CF62 7DT

01446 740981

Jane.Hutt@assembly.wales

Huw Irranca-Davies AM

Unit 2
112-113 Commercial Street
Maesteg
CF34 9DL

0300 200 7105

Huw.Irranca-Davies@assembly.wales

Mark Isherwood AM

Delyn Conservative Assoc.
5 Halkyn Street
Holywell
CH8 7TX

01352 710232

Mark.Isherwood@assembly.wales

Julie James AM

1st Floor
11 Wind Street
Swansea
SA1 1DP

01792 460 836

Julie.James@assembly.wales

Ann Jones AM

The Hub
69-75 Wellington Road
Rhyl
LL18 1BE

01745 332813

Ann.Jones@assembly.wales

Caroline Jones AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
Cardiff
CF99 1NA

Caroline.Jones@assembly.wales

Carwyn Jones AM

1st/2nd Floor Suites
3 Cross Street
Bridgend
CF31 1EX

01656 664320

Carwyn.Jones@assembly.wales

Elin Jones AM

Ty Goronwy
32 Heoly Wig
Aberystwyth
SY23 2LN

01970 624516

Elin.Jones@assembly.wales

Helen Mary Jones AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
CF99 1NA

0300 200 6565

HelenMary.Jones@assembly.wales

Mandy Jones AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
Cardiff
CF99 1NA

01248 717 052

mandy.jones@assembly.wales

Steffan Lewis AM

1a Griffiths Blds
Victoria Terrace
Newbridge
Caerphilly
NP11 4EW

0300 200 7138

Steffan.Lewis@assembly.wales

Dai Lloyd AM

Uned 2
Ffordd Brunel
Parc Ynni Baglan
SA11 2FP

0300 200 7255

Dai.Lloyd@assembly.wales

Neil McEvoy AM

321 Cowbridge Road East
Canton
Cardiff
CF5 1JD

0300 200 7434

Neil.McEvoy@assembly.wales

David Melding AM

Office 2
20 Pantbach Road
Birchgrove
Cardiff
CF14 1UA

029 2062 3088

David.Melding@assembly.wales

Jeremy Miles AM

7 High Street
Pontardawe
Swansea
SA8 4HU

01792 869993

Jeremy.Miles@assembly.wales

Darren Millar AM

North Wales Business Park
Abergele
LL22 8LJ

01745 839117

Darren.Millar@assembly.wales

Eluned Morgan AM

19 Cartlett
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire
SA61 2LH

03002007310

Eluned.Morgan@assembly.wales

Julie Morgan AM

17 Plasnewydd
Whitchurch
Cardiff
CF14 1NR

029 2061 4577

Julie.Morgan@assembly.wales

Lynne Neagle AM

73 Upper Trosnant Street
Pontypool
NP4 8AU

01495 740022

Lynne.Neagle@assembly.wales

Rhianon Passmore AM

208 High Street
Blackwood
NP12 1AJ

01495 225 162

Rhianon.Passmore@assembly.wales

Adam Price AM

37 Wind Street
Ammanford
SA18 3DN

01269 597 677

Adam.Price@assembly.wales

Nick Ramsay AM

The Grange
16 Maryport Street
Usk
NP15 1AB

01291 674898

Nicholas.Ramsay@assembly.wales

Jenny Rathbone AM

165 Albany Road
Cardiff
CF24 3NT

029 2025 6255

Jenny.Rathbone@assembly.wales

Mark Reckless AM

20 Commercial Street
Pontypool
Torfaen
NP4 6JS

07970 930275

Mark.Reckless@assembly.wales

David Rees AM

Water Street Business Centre
Water Street
Port Talbot
SA12 6LF

01639 870779

David.Rees@assembly.wales

David J Rowlands AM

20 Commercial Street
Pontypool
Torfaen
NP4 6JS

0300 200 7235

DavidJ.Rowlands@assembly.wales

Jack Sargeant AM

National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
CF99 1NA

0300 200 6565

Jack.Sargeant@assembly.wales

Bethan Sayed AM

Unit 2
Brunel Way
Baglan Energy Park
Port Talbot
SA11 2FP

01639 820 530

Bethan.Sayed@assembly.wales

Ken Skates AM

Unit 19
The Malthouse Business Centre
Regent Street
Llangollen
LL20 8RP

0300 200 7114

Ken.Skates@assembly.wales

Lee Waters AM

43 Pottery Street
Llanelli
Carmarthenshire
SA15 1SU

01554 774 902

Lee.Waters@assembly.wales

Joyce Watson AM

3 Red Street
Carmarthen
SA31 1QL

01267 233448

Joyce.Watson@assembly.wales

Kirsty Williams AM

4 Water Gate
Brecon
LD3 9AN

01874 625739

Kirsty.Williams@assembly.wales

Leanne Wood AM

68 Heol Pontypridd
Porth
CF39 9PL

01443 681420

Leanne.Wood@assembly.wales

Pete Shelley Tribute: Day 4

On my Facebook page I am posting a week long tribute to the late, great Pete Shelley and I thought I would post these on my Blog as well so that as many people as possible can enjoy his music.

***

I have chosen to feature ‘Why Can’t I Touch It?’  for today’s tribute to Pete Shelley. This was originally a B-side to the equally epic ‘Everybody’s Happy Nowadays’. The following writers were given credit for this song – Diggle, Steve GarveyJohn Maher, Shelley – which probably means Shelley only had a minor role in the collaboration of this record. Nevertheless, he undeniably made it his own with his trademark vocals.

Writing on the All Music website, Bill Janovitz describes this song in the following manner:

A reggae shuffle of sorts forms the rhythmic basis of this infectious pop tune from the Buzzcocks. While most of the band’s songs were infused with a healthy dose of punk rock energy and aggression, “Why Can’t I Touch It?” is a relaxed, albeit angular groove. The song approaches punk only by way of the Clash’s penchant for Caribbean beats and dub-style production/arranging and perhaps Pete Shelley’s astringent, high-register vocal delivery. 

Pete Shelley Tribute: Day 3

On my Facebook page I am posting a week long tribute to the late, great Pete Shelley and I thought I would post these on my Blog as well so that as many people as possible can enjoy his music.

***

Day 3 of my tribute to the late, great Pete Shelley and a focus on one of his solo songs. This was not only creative genius but also really brave to think about homosexuality back in 1981. According to Wikipedia, “Homosapien” is a song by Buzzcocks lead singer Pete Shelley. It was the first single from the album of the same title, released in 1981.

The single was a big hit in Australia and Canada, reaching the Top 10 in both territories, as well as being a modest hit in New Zealand. Although it failed to crossover to singles charts, it was a popular dance track in clubs across Europe and the United States and reached number 14 on the Billboard Club Play Singles chart.

The song was banned by the BBC for its “explicit reference to gay sex” with the lyrics “homo superior / in my interior”.

Pete Shelley Tribute: Day 1

On my Facebook page I am posting a week long tribute to the late, great Pete Shelley and I thought I would post these on my Blog as well so that as many people as possible can enjoy his music.

***

For the next week I will be sharing Buzzcocks songs as well as solo singles by the late, great Pete Shelley. This is one of my ultimate favourites and shows how Pete found the beauty in ugly situations. This song provided me with such energy and determination at times when I was at my lowest and I will always be grateful for this great gift from Bolton’s finest.

This song appears on the 1978 album, Love Bites. 

Motion for Disability Labour AGM #SaveWILG

This is the motion I am proposing at the Disability Labour AGM on Saturday 8th September in Leeds.

Thanks must go to Keith Sinclair for his amazing work on creating this motion. The strength of the #SaveWILG campaign group never fails to impress me. It is very humbling.

***

Disability Labour notes:

  • the support for the Welsh Independent Living Grant (WILG) from recipients and the wider support that exists.

 

  • that a positive approach must include a tripartite team to agree the Care Package, comprising the disabled individual, the local authority and a Social Worker independent of both parties.

 

  • the decision of the Welsh Government to abolish the WILG

 

  • the overwhelming decision of the Wales Labour Party conference to support the saving of the Welsh Independent Living Grant (WILG)

 

  • the different approaches that have been adopted to supporting Independent Living in England, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

 

Disability Labour believes

  • that the approach to Independent Living adopted in England has been a disaster and that the models adopted in Scotland and North Ireland are more likely to meets the needs of disabled people.

 

  • that Constituency Labour Parties (CLPs) and trade unions in Wales should be congratulated for their support for the campaign to save the WILG.

 

  • that the evidence is clear that local authorities in Wales are not in a position to seamlessly take on the responsibilities of the WILG.

Disability Labour calls upon

  • the Welsh Government to save the WILG as a first step towards meeting the needs of disabled people in Wales

 

  • CLPS, unions and Labour affiliates to support the campaign to save the WILG.

 

Proposed by Nathan Lee Davies

Seconded by Dorian Gordon