Happy Never After

Haiku is a genre of classical Japanese poetry and one of the major genres of Japanese literature. A Haiku consists of 3 lines and 17 syllables. Each line has a set number of syllables see below:

Line 1 – 5 syllables
Line 2 – 7 syllables
Line 3 – 5 syllables

This is my 2nd Haiku poem of 2017 and – along with the 81 Tanka’s I have written so far – I am well on my way to putting together a collection of poems to reflect the struggles of disabled people in 21st century Britain. I would like to publish these poems in a book to be released in 2018, but I need an illustrator to help me add images to my words and create the type of book that I envisage. If you are a budding artist, or know of one, then please do get in touch.

I am pretty nervous about trying this new form of poetry as I am not sure if my version fits with all the rules of traditional Haiku. I have given it a go anyway, even though I was originally writing a Tanka. After writing the third line I realised that anything else would detract from the message that I was trying to convey. After watching John Cooper Clarke on 8 out of 10 Cats Does Countdown, I am also tempted to experiment with other forms of poetry.

Anyway, here is my latest effort

Limited freedom

Hostage of the modern world

Mother nature laughs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.